A Benjamin Button Complex

There are few things better than watching 10 Things I Hate About You and drinking wine on a Tuesday night.

This weekend was easier on me than the rest of the previous week (mostly). Work went smoothly, I got to see an old friend, and I think I lived how a 21-year-old should. I was a little promiscuous, drank a lot of alcohol and redbull, slept few hours, and was able to successfully function both days afterward. It made me feel like I was doing something right, somehow. For as mature as I am, I’m glad I could take the time to be young while I am.

* * *

I’ve been searching for excuses. And I’ve found them, but I don’t know how I feel about that. There are a few things I feel I could put on hold for years. Do I pursue them now? Or does that mess up the timing? Whatever I do is supposed to happen, I guess. I’ll put a pin in that.

* * *

He lit himself on fire and watched as she drowned in his smoke.

Lauren has pointed out to me that I always fall for tortured souls, and the more I think about it, the more I think she’s right. There’s something about that deep, ethereal emotion that is like a target for me.

I guess you could say it hasn’t exactly worked out for me. But I’ve certainly had some experience with drowning in someone else’s smoke.

And after hearing Heath Ledger’s accent (as well as Liam Hemsworth’s in his new movie), I’m hoping to have some experience with an Australian.

Leave a Reply

